£5,000 Craig Macdonald Memorial Prize opens for entries

Written by Lucy Wakeford, Head of Online, Digital Leaders

Digital Leaders have today announced the launch of the Craig Macdonald Memorial Prize, for the best grassroots organisation working in their local community to help close the digital divide. The Prize which is a special category in the 9th Digital Leaders 100 Awards 2021 will see the winner receive £5,000.

Craig Macdonald was a technology professional dedicated to public service who passed away suddenly in early 2020. In honour of Craig’s memory, Digital Leaders have teamed up with Tech investor Rob Wilmot who has offered the prize of £5,000.

Craig Macdonald was the Chief Digital and Technology Officer of Crown Commercial Service, an Executive Agency of the UK Cabinet Office dedicated to helping the government and wider public sector to get the best deal when procuring common goods and services.

Simon Tse, CEO of Crown Commercial Service, said: “Craig was a much-loved member of our CCS family, as well as a passionate and influential industry leader. This award is a fitting tribute to Craig, committed as he was to encouraging grassroots digital innovation.”

Rob Wilmot, former NED and Chair of the Technology and Digital Transformation Committee at CCS, commented: “Like all those who worked with Craig, I was shocked and saddened when he passed away so suddenly. I wanted to do something to honour his memory and his passion for technology and community regeneration and I approached Digital Leaders as the ideal partner for this, because of their reputation and broad reach. After discussions with Craig’s family, we created the Craig Macdonald Memorial Prize.”

Find out more



Opening the nominations for this new prize and also entries for the 9th Digital Leaders 100 Awards, Robin Knowles, Founder of Digital Leaders said ”The DL100 has always highlighted the unsung teams and champions of digital transformation across the UK, so we are thrilled to be honouring Craig’s memory with this new award.’

Nominations for the Craig McDonald Memorial Prize and all 13 categories in this year’s DL100 are open until Friday 3rd September. The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on the 11th November in Central London.

The DL100 recognises people, organisations and programmes across the UK who are leading the way in digital transformation in all sectors. Winners have previously included industry names such as Martha Lane-Fox, Mike Bracken, Maggie Philbin, Liam Maxwell, Seyi Akiwowo, Kevin Cunnington and Eileen Burbidge.

Find out more visit http://digileaders100.com or follow #DL100 or #digileaders on Twitter

About the Digital Leaders 100
Each year’s list is created from nominations submitted by members of the 150,000 strong Digital Leaders community, before being shortlisted by the DL100 judges, who are often members of the Digital Leaders Advisory Board.

This year’s list is the 9th cohort to join the alumni of previous winners that now numbers over 600 leaders from government, enterprise, startups and charities. These former members stay in touch, network and learn from each other through participation in the DL100 Club.

About Digital Leaders
Digital Leaders is a global initiative that has created a shared professional space for senior leadership from different sectors promoting effective, long-term digital transformation. Our community of 120,000 senior leaders are involved in leveraging technology to promote economic growth, increase social well-being and narrow social gaps.

To find out more visit https://digileaders.com/ or follow Digital Leaders on Twitter: @DigiLeaders

Comments are closed.